presentation of the award will be made during AOAC's meeting next year.

Conference on Nutritive Value of Cottonseed Meal

A conference on the processing of cottonseed meals as related to its nutritive value is to take place in New Orleans Jan. 14 to 16. Sessions are to be held in the laboratory of USDA's Southern Utilization Research Branch. cosponsor, with the National Cottonseed Products Association, of the meeting. Among topics to be reported on are the chemical properties and nutritive value of commercially manufactured cottonseed meals for poultry feeding, work with ruminants, and progress in developing chemical measurements for the nutritive value of cottonseed meal.

Southern Weed Conference In Georgia in January

The Southern Weed Conference has announced the scheduling of its meeting for Jan. 23 through 25 at the Bon Aire Hotel, Atlanta, Ga. The 10th annual meeting of this group will review many phases of research and education in chemical weed control.

PEOPLE

Elvehiem Gets Spencer Award

Conrad A. Elvehjem, dean of the graduate school at the University of



Wisconsin, has been named 1956 recipient of the Charles F. Spencer Award in agricultural and food chemistry. The award, founded by Kenneth A. Spencer, president of

Spencer Chemical, in honor of his father and sponsored by the Kansas City Section of the ACS, is to be presented on Nov. 9.

Dr. Elvehjem was nominated for his work in biochemistry. He was cited for his pioneering work in discovering the relationship between animal nutrition and trace elements in the soil and for showing that nicotinic acid was the specific antipellagra vitamin.

Horace M. Armitage, who retired from his position as chief of the Bureau of Entomology of the California Department of Agriculture last November, was presented with a resolution from the California Board of Agriculture last month recognizing his 43 years of outstanding service as a public official in agriculture.

A. F. Kirkpatrick of American Cyanamid has been reelected president of the Western Agricultural Chemicals Association. Also reelected was the vice president, Harvey M. Bales of Arizona Pest Control Co.

M. J. Niles has been named to the newly created post of special representative for the president of Fritzsche Bros., Inc. He has been manager of the firm's Chicago office.

Daniel Swern of USDA's Eastern Utilization Research Branch has received the John Scott Medal Award from the Philadelphia Board of City Trusts for his work on new industrial chemicals from surplus animal fats.

Everett C. Cogbill and Stanley J. Clark have joined American Tobacco as research associates in the Richmond, Va., laboratories. Dr. Cogbill has been with Duke University, and Dr. Clark with Louisiana State University.

Richard G. Powell has been promoted to director of technical services for Mississippi River Chemical. Formerly a technical service representative, he will direct activities of the department in association with Bradley & Baker, distributor of the company's products.

L. Gavaza has been named manager of the Smith-Rowland Division of Smith-Douglas. He replaces Russell Spivey, who has been transferred to the parent company as sales manager for the Norfolk, Va., branch.

Harold A. Ford has joined the industrial chemicals division of Olin Mathieson as assistant manager of nitrogen products. He was formerly a sales representative for Westvaco Chlor-Alkali.

Emil M. Mrak, chairman of the food technology department at the University of California, Davis, has been chosen president-elect of the Institute of Food Technologists.

Kenneth L. Cartwright, formerly with Charles Bowman & Co., has joined Lake States Yeast Corp. as sales manager for food and pharmaceutical products. He will be located in New York.

Bruce L. Haddock has been appointed assistant merchandising manager of Diamond Black Leaf.

Joseph R. Meehan has been assigned to the agricultural chemicals department of Minerals & Chemical. He is to handle sales and service activities in connection with Attaclay carrier and diluent products.

H. R. Kraybill, who died Sept. 30 (AG AND FOOD, Oct. 1956, page 841), was awarded posthumously the Dodge & Olcott Achievement Award for his outstanding contribution to the growth and general welfare of the meat packing industry.

Phillip C. Hamm, project leader in herbicide research for Monsanto, has been appointed to the position of scientist to continue his work in the general field of plant physiology, including studies on herbicidal activity. The position of scientist was established within the organic chemicals division two years ago to recognize outstanding technical accomplishments and to give individuals maximum opportunity to plant and conduct purely scientific endeavors.

E. Finley Carter has been appointed director of Stanford Research Institute. He succeeds J. E. Hobson, who resigned last December. Carter, who joined SRI in 1954 as manager of research operations, was named associate director last year and since then has been responsible for directing SRI activities.

David Howe has joined the research development and engineering staff of Commercial Solvents as agronomist. Formerly assistant plant physiologist for the Texas Research Foundation, Dr. Howe will be concerned with development of CSC's nitrogen fertilizer products.

Carl C. Kesler, director of research for Penick & Ford, Ltd., has received the 1956 Iowa Medal of the AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY'S Iowa Section. The award is presented annually to an Iowa chemist or chemical engineer for meritorious achievement in teaching, research, or industry.

James H. Jones has joined Carbide & Carbon to work as technical representative with Crag agricultural chemicals.

George W. Kurtz, who recently completed two years military service with the U. S. Army Quartermaster Food and Container Institute for the Armed Forces, will remain there to direct studies in the flavor chemistry laboratory of the Food Laboratories' chemistry and microbiology branch.

David Stern has been named assistant manager of the Whittier, Calif., research laboratory of American Potash & Chemical. He has been with the company since 1955 as head of the laboratory's electrochemicals section.